lohabazaar.blogg.se

Riddle school transfer newgrounds
Riddle school transfer newgrounds











riddle school transfer newgrounds

And I wanted to prove that this was possible with Flash, the same program most people use just to make simple little browser games that they can pass the time with when they're bored.īut what purpose would it serve to make an entire series like this? I already know what the response to RT1 was: people still cling to Flash games as a way to temporarily escape boredom and don't see the intended artistry in a carefully designed experience because the immediate expectation of a Flash game is 'quick and easy fun', and my game hasn't changed that. I didn't want to make a mindless or frustrating game, but one that actually made sense and encouraged players to mentally piece things together to proceed Riddle Transfer was meant to be taken seriously as a game that was truly satisfying. Some developers compensate for this lack of clarity by dropping ten-ton hints everywhere, but when the puzzles are too reliant on hints, there's no epiphanies or sense of discovery involved.

riddle school transfer newgrounds

Often players are either required to skew their thinking to match the logic of the game developer, or look at a walkthrough because the logic is so obtuse. I believe the reason people think point-and-click adventures are a lost cause is because they haven't been "done right" yet. People insist the point-and-click adventure game is a dead genre, just like people insisted the side-scrolling platform game was a dead genre, but that says nothing about its still-limitless potential. I wanted to change the way Flash games and adventure games were seen. My main motivations with RT1 were simple but ambitious. I wanted so much to make RT2 and finish the other three games afterward so that those who liked the previous games would see the rest of the story and be contented by the continued content, but ultimately I have decided the end product simply wouldn't be worth the pains it would take to make. I spent the next fifteen months feeling anxiety about RT2, chipping at it from time to time hoping something would come out of it, and nothing has. I dropped this idea when the first game took me six whole months to make, which is a longer period of time than I ever anticipated or hoped to spend working on it. When I came up with the first Riddle Transfer game, I'd originally intended to finish all of the games at once and release them after set periods of time, because the element of surprise about the series would have remained intact and the insistent requests for sequels would already have been met. I've made the difficult decision to officially discontinue the rest of the Riddle Transfer series, along with anything directly associated with the Riddle School series or its characters. Link to all the discarded plans for the series: Years went by, and I finally decided to make a game to finish the story.Įverything below this point is now just here for posterity!













Riddle school transfer newgrounds